Auto-Sleepers Tour 2012-13 British Bodyboard champions announced


Auto-Sleepers Tour 2012-13 British Bodyboard champions announced.

Following the successful conclusion of the protracted Auto-Sleepers Tour 2012-13 British Bodyboard Tour at Tolcarne Wedge at the end of October, the BBC is pleased to formally announce the British Champions in the Open, Women’s and DK divisions.

With the Tour ultimately curtailed from 6 down to the minimum 3 scoring events, each one took on added significance and the riders that made the extra effort to prioritise the tour ultimately reaped the benefits.

Retaining his title from 2011, Damian Prisk stormed to victory in 2012-13 after wins at both Portreath and Porthtowan, and a 4th place finish at Tolcarne.  Close competition for the 2nd & 3rd place spots saw 6 riders nose-to-tail within 150 points of each other; but squeezing into 2nd place was Aaron Dinham on 990 points just ahead of Rob Barber on 920 who had edged out Jack Johns by 15 points.

In the Women’s tour, Olivia Smedley dominated proceedings by placing 1st in each event – the first time since the tour has been in place that a clean-sweep 1,500 points has been achieved.  Tabby Fox followed in 2nd with Megan Penny closely on her heels in 3rd.

The DK was keenly contested, but whilst Laurie McCall took out the Portreath and Porthtowan events, the consistent Andrew Hill sealed the tour win with 3 podium finishes.  Alex Winkworth taking 3rd as these 3 dominated the points scoring.

So congratulations go out to the Tour winners from both the Auto-Sleepers Group and the BBC; and acknowledgement to all the competitors and spectators who supported the events through thick and thin.

Many thanks from the BBC go to: Auto-Sleepers as Tour sponsors, Bodyboard HQ and The Bodyboard-Depot as event sponsors, and our many divisional and sub-sponsors.  A special word of thanks goes out to all the staff who gave up their time and energy to run and facilitate the events, often at significant personal expense.

As announced in March 2012, the Auto-Sleepers Tour winners will receive a sponsorship package from the BBC; the Open winner £500, DK and Women’s £250 each.  The sponsorship will come in the form of support to compete at an IBA/ISA/ESF international event of their choice in 2014.  The winners can apply to release the sponsorship for support once they have established their entry with the competition organisers.

Looking forward into 2014, arrangements for next year are currently under review and will be announced in due course.